student · · Updated
Word Count Guidelines for Common Academic Assignments
By Chirag
The word limit in your assignment brief or marking scheme is the one that applies to you. Everything below is either a published limit, linked to its source, or a typical range to fall back on when the brief gives no number.
Quick answer: word counts by assignment type
| Assignment | Length | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Short essay or reflection | 500–1,000 words | Typical convention |
| Standard undergraduate essay | 1,500–3,000 words | Typical convention |
| Report (lab, project or business) | 1,500–4,000 words | Typical convention; often split into required sections |
| Discussion post or forum reply | 150–300 words | Typical convention |
| Dissertation chapter | Total ÷ chapters (e.g. 10,000 ÷ 5 = 2,000 words) | Your department sets the total |
| Abstract (APA style) | Up to 250 words | APA Style guide; APA notes abstracts aren't usually required for student papers |
| Common App personal essay | 250–650 words | Common App instructions, as quoted by University of Washington Admissions |
| UC Personal Insight Questions | Up to 350 words each; answer 4 of the 8 | UC Admissions |
"Typical convention" means a common range, not a rule. If your brief states a number, that number wins.
The ±10% leeway
Going up to 10% over a limit without penalty is a convention, and some universities write it into their assessment rules. What happens past 10% differs. Three published UK policies:
| Policy | Up to 10% over | More than 10% over |
|---|---|---|
| Northumbria University | No deduction; the tutor flags it in feedback | The marker stops reading at the point the work passes the limit by more than 10% |
| SOAS University of London | No deduction | 10 percentage points off up to 20% over, 15 points off up to 30% over, and a mark of 0 beyond that |
| Arden University | No deduction: a 3,000-word essay may run to 3,300 words | No marks for anything past the maximum |
The minus side of "±10%" is rarely a rule: SOAS has no specific penalty for under-length work, and Northumbria applies none either. A short piece still loses marks for what it leaves out.
These three policies don't speak for every institution. If your brief calls the limit strict, or doesn't mention a margin, follow the brief or ask your tutor rather than assume 10% is available. Application forms are stricter still: the Common App won't accept a personal essay under 250 words.
What counts toward the limit
Two of the policies above spell out what is counted, and they disagree on footnotes:
| Part of the work | SOAS | Arden University |
|---|---|---|
| Main text and quotations | Counted | Counted |
| In-text citations | Counted | Counted |
| Title, headings and abstract | Counted | Not specified |
| Footnotes | Counted | Not counted |
| Reference list or bibliography | Not counted | Not counted |
| Tables, figures and diagrams | Not specified | Numerical data in tables, figures and diagrams not counted |
| Acknowledgements, contents page, glossary, lists of tables or figures | Not counted | Not specified |
| Appendices | Not normally marked | Not normally marked |
Northumbria's policy leaves this list to each programme, naming the same items (abstract, in-text citations, quotations, title and contents page, tables, footnotes, reference list, appendices and glossary) as the ones each programme has to decide on. Your module's assessment information is where that decision is written down.
To check a draft, paste only the parts that count into the Word Counter. Its count can differ by a few words from Word or Google Docs on things like dashes, numbers with symbols and web addresses, and the tool page lists the rules it uses.
Words vs pages
When a brief gives pages instead of words, or you want to know how long 2,000 words will look, font and spacing matter more than anything else. These figures were measured by laying out 12,276 words of plain prose in Chrome at exact page sizes and counting how many words fit per line and how many lines fit per page, rounded to the nearest 10:
| Font | Letter, double-spaced | Letter, single-spaced | A4, double-spaced | A4, single-spaced |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Times New Roman 12 pt | about 330 | about 660 | about 350 | about 690 |
| Arial 12 pt | about 300 | about 600 | about 310 | about 630 |
| Calibri 11 pt | about 360 | about 730 | about 370 | about 760 |
The layout assumed:
- 1-inch (2.54 cm) margins on every side.
- Left-aligned text with no hyphenation.
- The first line of each paragraph indented 0.5 inch, with no extra space between paragraphs, as in APA 7 student papers.
- Single spacing equal to each font's own line height as Word applies it: 13.8 pt for Times New Roman and Arial at 12 pt, 13.4 pt for Calibri at 11 pt. Double spacing is twice that.
So 1,000 words comes to about three double-spaced pages in Times New Roman 12 pt on either paper size, and a 2,000-word essay about six. A title page, headings, block quotations and extra space between paragraphs all lower the words per page. Word or Google Docs may break some lines differently from a browser, so treat these as close estimates rather than exact counts.
Getting to the number
Short of a minimum, develop a point you've already made with an example or a piece of evidence rather than adding a thin new paragraph.
Over a maximum, cut sentences that repeat something already said, shorten wordy phrases ("due to the fact that" becomes "because"), and delete summaries of the paragraph the reader has just finished.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do references count toward the word count?
Usually the reference list or bibliography does not, while in-text citations do. That is the rule in both the SOAS and Arden University policies, but footnotes split them: SOAS counts footnotes and Arden does not. Your assignment brief decides.
What happens if I go over the word limit?
It depends on your institution. The three UK policies compared in this guide all allow up to 10% over without a deduction. Beyond that, Northumbria markers stop reading, SOAS deducts 10 or 15 percentage points (or gives 0 above 30% over), and Arden marks nothing past the maximum.
Will I lose marks for being under the word count?
Not as a set penalty under the policies quoted here: SOAS has no specific penalty for under-length work, and Northumbria applies none while noting that students who do not use the full word count may have penalised themselves. A short piece usually loses marks for what it leaves out.
Does the title or contents page count?
At SOAS, titles, headings and abstracts count but the table of contents does not. Northumbria leaves the title and contents page for each programme to decide, so check your module's assessment information.
How many pages is 1,000 words?
About three pages double-spaced in 12 pt Times New Roman with 1-inch margins (roughly 330 words per Letter page and 350 per A4 page), or about one and a half pages single-spaced. Arial 12 pt fits fewer words on a page and Calibri 11 pt fits more.
Related guides
- Weighted Grades: Where You Stand and What You Need on the Final · One course worked through: the grade so far (81.8%) from the 60% already marked, the final-exam score needed for 80, 85 or 90 overall, and the category, points and dropped-score rules that change the answer.
- CGPA vs Percentage: The Averaging Mistake That Can Cost You a Cutoff · Why averaging your semester SGPAs gives the wrong CGPA (8.00 instead of 7.76 in the worked example, or 76.0% instead of 73.7%), where the × 9.5 rule comes from, and how to work out the SGPA you need next semester.